Television

New Girl 2×04: blegh hipster hippies enter the building

New Girl 2×04: Neighbors

I’m so not a fan of this episode…

1. What just happened?!
Hipster hippies entered the building as the new neighbors of our four awesome friends. The gang tries to befriend their new neighbors, but only Nick and Winston are smart to turn around immediately. Schmidt and Jess start to hang out frequently with their new friends (although the friends part only counts for the latter). In the meantime Nick is busy pulling a lot of pranks on Schmidt, because he fails to make new friends again, and Winston tries to take control of his life (go Winston!).

2. What was the most memorable quote or dialog this episode?
Schmidt (to Jess): “You used to inspire me. I mean, not specifically because I find teaching to be icky… but, you know, in a vague kind of “Look at that go-getter in a in a brightly colored sweater” kind of way.” I liked it, because it was serious and a little funny at the same time.

3. Cuteness vs. Useless
+ Winston stood up for himself and got a real job! It is maybe at an ungodly hour, but go Winston! he finally seems to have found himself.
+ Nick’s pranks were kind of funny. My favorite: the photo wall, the chair was just too much.
+ Schmidt’s face when he said “smile class” was priceless!
+ On the bright side: Jess came to her senses and started tutoring.
– the hipster hippies in general. It’s not that I’m a hipster hater (I think my friends would describe me as a little hipsterish) but these guys were awful. I really hope that this was the last we have seen of them.
– Calling Urkel (Family Matters) a webseries, I thought hipsters were supposed to be smart (at least a little).
– Schmidt was too Schmidty. Is that possible? Yes it is, well at least when he tries to impress hipster hippies.
– Winston’s over the top prank suggestions were a bit stupid.

4. Rate it! (on a scale from 0 to 10)
I’m going to give it a 6, because in the end there was a group hug and (hopefully) some character growth to something better.

Leave a Reply

