Television

New Girl 2×11: Crashing Christmas Celebrations

New Girl 2x11: Santa

New Girl 2×11: Santa

Marry Christmas!

1. What just happened?!
Tonight is our friend’s last chance before Christmas for a holiday hang. They decide to crash as much Christmas parties as possible. Lesbian cookie party, CHECK, German computer music party, CHECK, radio slash karaoke party, CHECK AGAIN.

During the parties: Winston has some trouble hearing. (Damn cranberry. WHAT?!) Nick has some hard time adapting to his unpredictable stripper girlfriend. Schmidt’s not over his broken heart yet. Cece tries to amend their friendship. Jess gets stalked by Sam, who says he’s now ready for a serious relationship.

2. What was the most memorable quote or dialog this episode?
Jess: “I’m gonna die alone and marry christmas.”
Nick: “Nick Miller, turns lemonade into lemons since 1981”
Schmidt: “SANTA’S NOT REAL, THAT’S LUDICROUS”

3. Cuteness vs. Useless
++ Yay for so many laugh-out-loud moments in this episode. Deaf Winston (his facial expressions… hilarious!), Schmidt’s Jewish jokes, Jess running into windows a bazillion times, Nick and Angie falling out of the sleigh, Winston “breaking up” with Jess, Winston karaokeing, Nick’s public announcement to Angie, Nick AND Schmidt getting sexy (Right…sexy…) and the unprompted carol choir. I said many, didn’t I?
+ Alright, I know I totally woop-woop-ed over the Nick and Jess combination not so many days ago… To be honest, I kinda forgot about Sam. And Sam’s pretty cool too. Not only did I already like David Walton in the underappreciated 6-episode series Bent, he’s also pretty cool. Did I already say he’s pretty cool? And come on, pediatrician meets elementary school teacher…that’s some perfect romcom material there. So maaaaybe I’ll be alright with Jess and Nick being friends *gasp* I mean, the booth scene between them was pretty adorable. Hey, a girl can change her mind right?
+/- I don’t know about Angie quite yet. Olivia seems a little uncomfortable in her role and mumbles her words here and there, which makes it awkward to watch sometimes. I’m still figuring out if this is intentional or not. Weirdly enough her character started to get more likeable after showing her boobs. And I don’t mean that in a pervert way, plus I’m not a dude. I think her helping the group and participating in the carol choir made her a bit more likeable for us viewers. Curious to see if they’ll go further on that path with this character.

4. Rate it! (on a scale from 0 to 10)
This was my favorite New Girl episode in a while. Maybe I was in my New Girl mood, but I laughed my way through this one. More of that please, writers! 8,5/9

One thought on “New Girl 2×11: Crashing Christmas Celebrations

  1. Don’t forget the black Santa who pulled them over (and the group freaking out about it!). But it certainly was a great episode 🙂

Leave a Reply

