Television

The Vampire Diaries 4×14: To wish impossible things

The Vampire Diaries 4x14: Down The Rabbit Hole

The Vampire Diaries 4×14: Down The Rabbit Hole

The Vampire Diaries 4×14: Down The Rabbit Hole
Take a good long look at this picture, dear viewers. It seems like this were Jeremy final moments on TVD. Or at least his final moments as a living and breathing person. Before I start blaming this all on Bonnie – because come on she couldn’t use her crazy magic right at the moment Katherine was feeding Jeremy to Silas?! – let’s go start at the beginning. By the way kuddos if you figured out that the title of this post is actually a song by The Cure.

I never expected these final moments of finding the cure would be so deadly. I expected some broken hearts, misunderstandings and fights but not this crazy stuff. You could say The Vampire Diaries was able to surprise me again. Which is actually a good thing. Having only one dose of the cure available was a great plot twist I think. It made us see everyone’s true nature. Clearly Stefan is not over Elena like he claims. Rebekah is more attached to Stefan than she likes to admit, because she would give him the cure instead of taking it herself. Elena is worried about Klaus going after her and Jeremy. Damon wants his girlfriend to be happy (and get rid of the sire bond). Vaughn just wants to kill Silas, although no one can explain what kind of hell on earth Silas can create when he’s awaken. Klaus and Caroline wouldn’t take the cure at all. I think Klaus only wants the cure as an insurance to use against his enemies.

Jeremy really stepped up this episode. I forgot he was able to see ghosts, but it was great he was able to help out Bonnie like she helped him out before. Thankfully they decided that Shady Shane couldn’t be trusted. It sucked Vaughn wasn’t able to have a more civiled conversation with Jeremy about killing Silas. I’m not just saying that because of the outcome of the episode, but also because I’m very curious about his reason for wanting to kill Silas. Plus I really want to know when the third massacre will happen, where Shane was talking about.

Back in Mystic Falls the Tyler-Caroline-Klaus triangle continues. After Klaus threatens Tyler again, Caroline asks for his mercy. Another intense conversation follows. This conversation makes it actually so obvious (again) why these two should be together, because they are so alike, but the only problem is that Caroline is also very in love with Tyler. I’m very torn about the outcome. Tyler runs off for the gazillionth time, because Klaus only promises to give him a head start. Although their goodbye was heartbreaking, I wondered why she couldn’t just join him. It is actually a simple solution to the problem. Plus I’m getting a bit annoyed by the fact Tyler always talks about taking on a fight with Klaus, but chickens out at the last moment. Another annoying fact about Tyler’s departure is creating yet again another obstacle for Klaus and Caroline to be together. I think we are getting close to the point that they will never get together (not even for a tiny kiss), because of everything that already happened between Klaus and Caroline. Which basically just makes me sad.

To be honest I can’t believe Jeremy really died. It so weird to see another Gilbert go. They wouldn’t leave Elena alone like that, would they? Although I love all the opportunities of guilt and madness which are created by Jeremy’s death. Katherine’s appearance was a great surprise. I was very eager to see who attacked Elena. I would love to know why Katherine stole the cure. Is she (yet again) working for someone? Or is she finally acting on her own? It was a great episode, although I’m not a fan of every plot development I can’t wait to see the next episode tonight. – 8,5

This week’s favorite quote
Damon: “Come on, man. Do I look like I know anything about tattoos? Look at my skin. It’s flawless.”
Vaughn: “How does it feel when a relentless eating machine is draining the blood from your veins?” Damon: “Itchy.”
Klaus to Caroline: “But if you could… You wouldn’t, would you? You prefer who you are now to the girl you once were. You like being strong, ageless, fearless. We’re the same, Caroline.”
Bonnie: “Look at us. A newbie hunter and a witch who needs adult supervision. How are we the ones that made it this far?”
Elena: “Pity party over. We have to go.”
Damon to Rebekah about staying behind: “Needed a siesta.”
Klaus: “I’ve done more than enough. I’ve shown kindness, forgiveness, pity… Because of you, Caroline. It was all for you.”
Katherine: “God, I forgot what a brat you were.” [Jeremy: “What?”] “I’m done playing nice.”
Katherine: “It’s been too long, little Gilbert. Sorry. Family reunion is gonna have to be cut short.”

Leave a Reply

