Television

The Carrie Diaries 1×11: The truth has a way of coming out

The Carrie Diaries 1x11: Identity Crisis

The Carrie Diaries 1×11: Identity Crisis

The Carrie Diaries 1×11: Identity Crisis
There were a lot of storylines this episodes. The guys and gals have spring break. Carrie decides to work fulltime for a week at Interview Magazine, Walt visits Carrie in the city for lunch, Sebastian is dealing with his hysterical mother, Tom meets a new lady friend, Maggie gets a fake I.D. and Mouse drives the basketball team crazy as their new team manager.

This was basically a lesson in “staying true to yourself”. Carrie pretends to be Larissa, which is kind of awesome because she is so over the top, but also gets her in a lot of trouble. Luckily Bennet is only one phone call away to give some advice. He also saves her lunchdate with Walt, which Carrie totally forgot about. Is it me, or does Carrie forget her friends more often these days? AnnaSophia might be super adorable, but a friend can only handle so much. Get it together girl, this is going to bite you in the ass soonish.

Walt hanging around Interview Magazine with Bennet was kind of cool. It also meant more developments when it comes to Walt coming out. The conversation between Walt and Carrie at the end was super sweet. She didn’t want to put any words in his mouth, but she kind of knew what was coming and was really cool about it. I think it would be an extremely tough conversation to have, because you don’t want to hurt someone’s feelings, but I think this story was very well told onscreen.

The parents on this show have their own contest who is the most ridiculous. Tom meets yet another woman, but she is at least sticking around for another episode. So the winner is Sebastian’s mom who is the biggest train wreck ever. What I liked about the storyline was Sebastian and Maggie growing closer, when he arranged a new fake I.D. for her. Maggie’s Christian background will be significant I think when she finds out about Walt. Mouse storyline was (yet again) an attempt to make the show a little bit more funnier (which failed completely this week. Although I liked it that she asked Donna for advice, I wasn’t really interested in the fighting jocks. Plus I told you so about West being interested in Mouse. It was just too obvious. It’s weird the writers are able to create some fabulous lines for Mouse and create some super predictable storylines for her at the same time. – 8/8,5

This week’s favorite quote
Sebastian: “We want them to be parents, not people. Believe me.”
Walt: “I mean, we’re all trying to figure out who we are. But you’re figuring out who you wanna be. I feel like I’m struggling with who I wanna be with.”
Maggie: “I can’t think of anything I would be less excited about than work. I plan to avoid work my entire life. I’m gonna have to figure out how to do that.”
Carrie (about Maggie pretending to be the girl on her new fake I.D. card): “Well, she’d better be if she doesn’t want to end up in juvie.”

Leave a Reply

