Television

Arrow 1×20: My attendance is bad, but my intentions are good

Arrow 1x20: Home Invasion

Arrow 1×20: Home Invasion

Arrow 1×20: Home Invasion
Decisions, decisions, decisions. It was a tough week for Oliver. Bad guys popped up out of nowhere and friends (in the known) asked for his help. A.R.G.U.S. was moving on Deadshot, but Diggle isn’t satisfied until Deadshot is in a box. Ollie promises him to help take him out. But don’t cheering too fast, because Laurel is in trouble.

Two of Laurel’s clients were killed, but their little boy escaped. She takes him in until his grandparents get to town. An assassin doesn’t like loose ends, so of course Laurel, the little boy and Tommy (who’s practically living at Laurel’s) get a big target on their back. I liked Quentin’s comment about it being time to move, after all the break-ins at Laurel’s place. Another thing I particularly enjoyed during the scenes was Laurel being a badass. I love that she doesn’t simple rolls over and gets scared when she is being attacked. She is smart, recognizes a threat and fights back. The only thing she needs to work on is doing some gun maintenance from time to time. Luckily the vigilante is her guardian angel and saves the day.

After this attack Tommy tells Laurel and her father that the Queen house is the safest place to stay. This moment and him comforting the little boy when he told him about missing his mom and being able to see her in his dreams, made me like Tommy more. Unfortunately he decides to break up with Laurel at the end of the episode, when he realizes Oliver still has feelings for Laurel after witnessing a small heart-to-heart between the old lovebirds. Ollie promises him that he isn’t going to act on those feelings, because of his side job which he is never going to tell her about. But Tommy doesn’t like the idea that if Laurel ever finds out, she will always pick Ollie over Tommy. Although I get Tommy’s insecurities a little, it’s sucks that he is breaking Laurel’s heart without a decent explanation. He looked so selfish not giving her decent reason for leaving her. The likeable things he did at the beginning of the episode were immediately erased by these actions, ugh.

Because Ollie was busy getting the one procenter to confess and saving Laurel from the assassin, he had to bail on his best buddie Diggle, who went after Deadshot. I have to say Deadshot is a smart guy and saw the trap A.R.G.U.S. set up. Although they sucked at being secretive in the first place, in my opinion. The undercover crew looked really suspicious. Luckily Diggle was around to save his buddy at A.R.G.U.S. and he didn’t get killed by Deadshot, because it’s such a greedy bastard. I don’t know who was right and who was wrong when it comes to Diggle and Ollie’s fight. I think they both had some good points and it sucks that Diggle decided to leave the team. Of course Diggle needs closure to move forward, but an innocent person’s life was at stake. Plus I think Laurel is the reason Ollie survived all those years on the island.

The arc on the island this week really showed that. Ollie was constantly thinking about Laurel and he may have kissed Shado for a second, but I think he can gets a pass for that (being stranded on an almost deserted island). I mentioned in my previous review that I finally start to enjoy the island pieces during the episode. This week my excitement for this storyline grew even more. Shado training Ollie to handle a bow was awesome. She acts like his personal Pocahontas, making him aware of the circumstances around him. Plus the final scene at the island was shocking! I can’t believe Shado’s father betrayed his daughter and her saviors. It really is a miracle Ollie survived on the island in the first place.

Before I forget… how cute were Speedy and Speedy? He may be a criminal, but Thea finally found her guy. Her character has become a lot more likeable during the season. Starring on Arrow might have been Colton Haynes best move yet after his killer season on Teen Wolf last summer. I also liked the way Quentin tricked the two and showed them the brutal things the Hood does, besides the good stuff like rescuing Roy. Quentin really acted like a worried parent in those moments, I think, which comes in handy because their actual parents are MIA most of the time. But I have to give it to Thea and Roy, when it comes to their determination to find (and in a way expose) the Hood. I’m curious if they are able to get closer to the truth before the first season of Arrow ends. – 8/8,5

This week’s favorite quote
Felicity: “I thought it would be helpful to track A.R.G.U.S’ manhunt for Floyd Lawton a.k.a. Deadshot, so I decrypted their communication logs. Which means, I just hacked a federal agency. Which kind of makes me a cyber terrorist, which is bad because I really don’t see myself fitting in well at Guantanamo Bay.” Oliver: “Don’t worry, Felicity, they don’t send blondes there.” Felicity: “I dye it, actually. I keep your secret…”
Detective Lance: “I’m feeling like it might be time for you to move.”
Felicity: “So you’re sniping a sniper. Kind of ironic, don’t you think?”

Leave a Reply

