Television

The Vampire Diaries 4×20: King Klaus and his heir

The Vampire Diaries 4x20: The Originals

The Vampire Diaries 4×20: The Originals

The Vampire Diaries 4×20: The Originals
We have been waiting for this backdoor pilot for quite a while now, but I think it’s safe to say it was worth the wait! What a fantastic, super interesting and compelling story Julie Plec and co have created for us. At first I was a little bit worried about The Originals happening, because they have been such a big part of The Vampire Diaries. I think a lot of today’s success for TVD is based on the presence of the Original family. That’s why I’m worried about what will happen to The Vampire Diaries when the Original family leaves for New Orleans. My initial thought after seeing the backdoor pilot for the first time “Screw Elena sans humanity and the rest of TVD, this show is fantastic and must be made!” After a moment to catch my breath, my commentary became a little more rational and polite… I really think The Originals has a lot of potential and luckily for me the CW boss agrees with me and decide the order the show for next fall. I also believe this is one of the best things that could happen to The Vampire Diaries at the moment. The characters on the show will be graduating soon (and maybe leave for college) so it’s the perfect time for TVD to reinvent the show and add new characters and monsters to the mix. I only hope that Silas isn’t going to be the new bad guy in town after Klaus hops on a bus to New Orleans.

But let’s not get ahead of ourselves. It’s finally time to review this episode! It actually took me a few days, because I needed to catch up on my other reviews before I could work on this one. First of all I’m glad the writers decided to put the story in Mystic Falls on hold for a week. Sometimes when a backdoor pilot is done (for instance on Gilmore Girls or Gossip Girl) they switch back and forth between the potential pilot and the current storylines. To be honest I didn’t miss Elena’s cellar scenes during this episode, which is a good sign.

Although Katherine’s letter was the lamest excuse for Klaus to travel to New Orleans, I liked the way we are introduced to New Orleans with a coffin and some great music. It’s clearly the supernatural spices own this town. A few seconds later we see a familiar face popping up: Hayley, who’s hanging out at the cafe of the infamous Deveraux sisters Jane-Anne and Sophie. So what’s the thing we learned in Mystic Falls? Yeah, never trust a witch. They might try to run you off the road and take you hostage. The only thing I don’t get is, didn’t Jane-Anne think she get caught practicing magic? Or is Sophie the mastermind behind all this and Jane-Anne decided to sacrifice herself for the greater good?

Klaus tries to track down the possible threat, but is confronted with the rules of his former protege real soon. The following scene was no doubt one of the best introduction of a new character ever. Marcel singing and owning the place, which was followed by his irresistible smile. Isn’t it refreshing that this show has a diverse cast? Most of the time Afro-American characters on TVD are introduced as a failing witch, potential love interest for Bonnie or a vampire victim. On The Originals you are King of New Orleans. Marcel welcomes Klaus with open arms and shows his savior he picked up on a lesson or two. Practice makes perfect, they say. In Marcel’s case it means he got rid off the werewolves and is able to control the witches. He claims he is going to help Klaus get to the bottom of his Deveraux problem, but before Klaus can get a word out of the witch Marcel kills her. It seems like Marcel doesn’t trust former friend, because he let’s people from his inner circle shadow Klaus. Luckily for Klaus, Elijah followed him to New Orleans. Klaus showed a wide range of emotions this episode, but I think Elijah stole my heart. His entrance was badass! “I’m Elijah, you’ve heard of me?” It’s almost as badass as “My name is Bond, James Bond”.

While Klaus and Marcel spotted the brave bartender Camille walking down the street (more on her later), Elijah unravelled the truth Klaus was looking for. Turns out werewolf Hayley is preggers! It was a true yaw dropping development and while some people think it’s too Twilight for their taste, I think it’s great. Don’t forget Twilight was all about Bella and Edward. Klaus will care for his child, but not for the mother. She was just a simple one night stand, which he reminds us off in his outburst. I loved how they used the sound of it’s heartbeat to confirm the pregnancy. Plus if you think about it, it’s kind of funny that the introduction of this baby reminds the viewers that no matter what, they need to use a condom! Because even supernatural creatures get knocked up.

Of course Klaus has trouble excepting this life changing fact. Elijah’s speech about family being power and settling again in New Orleans, the place they have been a family before, gave me goosebumps. I think Daniel Gillies stole even more hearts that particular moment. It was also fun to see Katherine back in Mystic Falls pointing out the similarities between her and Klaus and assuring he will accept the child, because he hates being lonely. Katherine who gets dumped by the way by Elijah because he chooses his brother of her (I didn’t feel sorry for her for one second). Although I get Rebekah’s response on not wanting to drop everything for Klaus benefits considering recent events, but I think this baby will be the perfect opportunity for her to add a human experience to her vampire existence. I actually can’t wait to see Rebekah change diapers and being completely disgusted about it.

After the big revelation of the night Klaus blows off some steam by crashing Marcel’s party. His former buddy still doesn’t want to share his secret about how he’s able to control the witches. Plus he makes it clear he is the King of the city these days. People who break the rules die. I’m glad Klaus didn’t run off with his tail between his legs, when Marcel claimed New Orleans as his town. Klaus showed Marcel he will always have one big advantage: his immortality. He even left Marcel speechless. The scene which followed was amazing, mostly because of the terrific music choice: Terrible Love by The National. Klaus runs in the brave bartender Camille who’s admiring the same painting as he. Camille instantly reminded me of Caroline. I think it’s safe to say she will be Klaus love interest in New Orleans. She has confidence, is interested in art and was able to put Klaus his feelings into words. When she was describing his demons: goosebumps! Seeing the brothers bond after that was the perfect ending to the first New Orleans episode. I’m glad Klaus decides to claim his child and I can’t wait for the show to start this fall. It was nice touch to let Klaus call his one true friend Caroline at the end of the episode and offered to show her one of his favorite places in the world, like he promised along time ago. It’s quite comforting for the Klaroline shippers to see he didn’t forget about her already and the writers left the door open for a short visit.

There is one side note I like to mention about the witches. Klaus was lured to New Orleans with the idea someone was plotting against him. But after Sophie explained her plan to overthrow Marcel, it felt more like they need Klaus help to accomplish that fact and they weren’t planning on taking down Klaus in the first place (although you can never truly trust a witch). It’s a bit confusing, but that is probably also one of the things that make this arc so interesting. I hope the writers of The Originals are able to make the most out of this show. This episode – the writing, the acting, the stunning setting and the (new) characters – blew me away at least. – 9,5

This week’s favorite quote
Klaus: “What an entirely unwelcome surprise.” Elijah: “And what an entirely unsurprising welcome.”
Camille: “He’s angry. Dark. Doesn’t feel safe and doesn’t know what to do about it. He wishes he could control his demons instead of having his demons control him. He’s lost. Alone. Or maybe he just drank too much tonight.”
Klaus: “Are you here to give me another pep talk on the joys of fatherhood?”
Sophie: “You know you’re famous in this town? Witches tell bedtime stories about the powerful vampire Klaus.”
Elijah: “Family is power, Niklaus. Love, loyalty. It’s power. This is what we swore to one another a thousand years ago, before life tore away what little humanity you had left, before ego, before anger, before paranoia created in this person before me. Someone I can barely even recognize as my own brother. This is us. The Original family. We remain together, always and forever. I am asking you to stay here. I will help you and I will stand by you. I will be your brother. We will build a home here together. So, save this girl. Save your child.”
Rebekah to Katherine: “I’d give you a play-by-play, but you have the air of someone who’s been lurking and listening.”
Katherine: “Klaus won’t be able to walk away from this. He and I are the same. We manipulate, we thirst for power, we control, we punish, but our actions are driven by one singular place deep inside. We’re alone. And we hate it.”
Klaus: “I made him in my image and he has bettered me. I want what he has. I want to be King.”
Marcel: “What’s mine is yours, but it is mine. My home, my family, my rules.”
Klaus: “I am immortal. Who has the power now, friend?”
Elijah: “Rebekah, in the name of our family, you might try to dial down your glee.” Rebekah: “What family? We are 3 distrustful acquaintances who happen to share a bloodline.”
Klaus: “Every King needs an heir.”
Elijah when asked where he is going: “To find out who’s making a move against our brother, and then I’ll either stop them, or I’ll help them. Depending on my mood.”
Klaus calling Caroline: “Caroline. I’m standing in one of my favorite places in the world, surrounded by food, music, art, culture, and all I can think about is how much I want to show it to you. Maybe one day you’ll let me.”

One thought on “The Vampire Diaries 4×20: King Klaus and his heir

  1. Pingback: The Originals 1×01: Family is power | All That Cubeness

Leave a Reply

