Television

Modern Family 4×23: We never really talk anymore

Modern Family 4x23: Games People Play

Modern Family 4×23: Games People Play

Modern Family 4×23: Games People Play
There was a lot of reflecting going on this episode. Claire sat down with her children and had a real conversation since forever (after the RV debacle). Mitchell and Cam became competitive at Lily’s gymnastics competition and Jay and Gloria tried to figure out what made them unpopular while breaking into their children’s homes. Although the storylines look a bit messy, I liked that every character had a little bit more depth at a certain point during the episode than they do usually. That doesn’t mean they usual forget to think before they act. But you don’t see it a lot in a comedy that characters reflect on their own actions. These moments enriched the characters and made them more layered and complex and less stereotyped, like last week.

It was a lot of fun to see Cam and Mitchell cheer on Lily during her competition. It was funny that Mitchell turned a bit into his father when he got competitive. It only shows how big of a mark parents leaves on their kids. While Jay’s kids were out of town he and his wife went looking for Manny’s bag while snooping around their house. It was super hilarious how Gloria easily broke into their houses even on her high heels! Her don’t ask don’t tell look, was the icing on the cake. I’m glad Manny is finally starting to rebel a little bit, or at least in his own way. He can’t stay the good boy forever. His poem topics were definitely about his relationship with his mother, he just doesn’t know it yet.

At first I didn’t like the RV storyline very much. But it made a great turn when the kids started to fight and Phil got out. Alex and Haley are so funny together this season, plus Luke is becoming more than just the goofy kid. Haley applying for the Lakers and the kids doing her routine together was so much fun. It was nice to see Phil jump in. It became even more hilarious when Phil claimed that he and Haley were working on something important in the final seconds of the episode, while Alex was tutoring Luke. Alex face looked just like Claire’s when she disapproves of something. It had me laughing out loud. – 8/8,5

This week’s favorite quote
Claire: “Ten days on the road with those kids? Winnebag-no.”
Cam to Lily: “Jump. Good. Spin. Now give me Beyonce.”
Claire: “Phil will see what I see every day, the transformation that happens when our kids are locked in a moving metal box… The kraken that is unleashed. I love my kids very, very much.”
Cam: “You know, what we don’t have in our family is two loving, supportive fathers.” Mitchell: “I’m just saying, she’s 5, you know?” Cam: “And you never let her forget it.”
Manny: “I don’t want my mom there. I’m exploring some darker themes I’m not sure she’s ready for, poems like ‘The umbilical noose’, ‘A jail called mom’, ‘Smother nature’. She’ll just find some way to make it all about her.”
Haley: “She can wear whatever she wants after I’ve had it for six months.” Alex “Or I get it automatically if you buy anything that looks like it.”
Claire: “Maybe I bring out the worst in them when there’s no fun-lovin’ Phil around to neutralize my toxins.”
Phil to Claire: “I know that tone. You’re making a point.”
Gloria: “Oh, so now it’s snooping, wanting to know more about your family by looking through their personal things?”
Haley: “A boy named Alex likes you?” Alex: “Yeah, I know. It’s weird. But my friend Andi with an ‘I’, she’s a girl, also liked Alex.” Haley: “The boy?” Alex: “Yes, the boy. I don’t refer to myself in the third person.” Luke: “I thought Aaron was the third person.”
Luke: “Dad’s in the middle of a super sad dude hug.”

One thought on “Modern Family 4×23: We never really talk anymore

Leave a Reply

