Television

The Vampire Diaries season four finale: Trading places

The Vampire Diaries 4x23: Graduation

The Vampire Diaries 4×23: Graduation

The Vampire Diaries 4×23: Graduation
How many storylines can you jam into one episode? Well a lot if you ask TVD writers. A couple of shows had a two hours finale and with the amount of storylines in TVD’s finale it would have deserved some more time to tell all the stories. Nevertheless this was an amazing finale, with a lot of great twists and turns. But an episode that starts of with Lexie and Stefan dancing to Bon Jovi can’t suck in general, right?!

So let’s break it down what happened in this season four finale. It’s graduation day and the veil was still down in the expression triangle. Stefan and Elena make up for lost time with their supernatural relatives Lexi, Alaric and Jeremy. While Rebekah’s ex Alexander, Connor and Vaughn try to fulfill their supernatural destiny by killing Silas. Why Alexander had to trap Matt with a bomb and a balance thingy is still beyond me. But it created a nice moment between Matt and Rebekah who stuck by his side. They even decide to go on a trip to Europe this summer but Matt doesn’t want to make anything official because he wants his love life to be a low vampire zone although he doesn’t mind a vampire summer romance. Damon deals with Vaughn who shoots him with werewolf venom bullets, so Caroline tries to get graduation going while stalking Klaus for a stash of healing hybrid blood. Alaric saves the day a lot, by helping out Damon with Vaughn (and stealing the cure back) and stopping Connor from bombing the Grill. Damn, this episode made me really miss Alaric and Lexi. While Grams helps Bonnie out with keeping her body hidden, while her granddaughter says her goodbyes, Bonnie, Stefan, Elena, Matt and Caroline actually attend graduation! Yay! It was a nice ceremony until the vengeful dead hybrids and witches under Kol’s leadership showed up. But luckily the gang has a supernatural immortal friend called Klaus, who’s not going to let his beau’s perfect day be ruined. Klaus got a special gift for Caroline: Tyler is save to return to Mystic Falls, since Klaus is moving to New Orleans and Tyler is her first love. But Klaus hasn’t given up on Caroline just yet, because he hopes to be her last love and kisses her on the cheek! Awwww. In the meantime Elena declares her love to Damon, so Stefan starts packing his bags including the remains of Silas to drop off in a vault somewhere in the water. Also Elena got the cure from Damon as a graduation gift, but that doesn’t mean she will take it. Katherine is storming around Mystic Falls to get the immortality she was promised by our wicked witch. If she doesn’t get it, she is going to make the life of her doppelgänger miserable. So in the final moments of the episode, right around the time the veil will go back up (this actually saves Elena from being killed by Kol), we see a kickass fight between our two doppelgängers in the halls of Elena’s high school. Katherine seems to be winning, but after a quick flashback where Elena offers the cure to Stefan who doesn’t accept it and they exchange their goodbyes, Elena shoves the cure into Katherine’s mouth! After a season going after the cure, I did not see that coming! Bonnie brings up the veil and accomplishes to bring back Jeremy. But she isn’t able to save her own life. Around the same time Stefan is heading to Portland while saying goodbye to Lexi. But he has still some cleaning up to do. Slight problem though. With Bonnie joining the afterlife Silas isn’t a big brick anymore. He decides to show his real face for the first time… and it’s Stefan’s! Before we know it Stefan Salvatore is going to rock bottom in his own vault, while his doppelgänger Silas takes his place. To be continued…

Okay’s this basically covered the whole episode, or did I still forget something?! Before I give this finale a grade, I want to reflect on the cliffhangers. At first I was a bit disappointed by Klaroline’s goodbye, because I was really hoping on a big smooch even if it wasn’t a logical thing to do. But when I rewatched it, it was actually perfect. Klaus didn’t give up on Caroline and they parted as friends. Who would have thought when Klaus joined TVD he would actually make a friend along the way?! I hope Caroline will visit New Orleans somewhere along the way.

Elena and Damon declaring their love to each other wasn’t unexpected in my opinion. I’m glad the writers are really giving Delena a chance to be something without a supernatural hazard, like a sire bond. Plus I think that the vampire Elena wouldn’t be a right match for vampire Stefan, because they can be all over the place sometimes. Damon is a bit more balanced. Yes, he is evil but he controls every step of his vampirehood. I’m curious how this relationship will play out in the fifth season.

This episode was all about balance and in a way sacrifice. If you want something to happen for your loved one, you have to sarcrifice something. Rebekah took Matt’s place, Elena and Katherine switched places with Katherine becoming human and Bonnie basically sacrificed her own life for Jeremy’s. It was such a emotional moment when Jeremy stayed behind in the cave with Bonnie and he couldn’t feel her hand. Ugh, why do I keep forgetting Jeremy can see ghosts?! I’m guess Bonnie will be back in season five in ghost form. Although Silas said that it didn’t matter if Bonnie was dead, so maybe there is a loophole for Bonnie too.

The biggest twists this episode were Katherine being forced to take the cure and Stefan being Silas doppelgänger. Nobody ever saw Silas true face, so I wonder how long it will take everybody to realize it isn’t Stefan who walks around town, but Silas. Or will they just assume Stefan switched his humanity off again? Like I said before, Katherine turning back to her human form was a super unexpected twist. I look forward to see her deal with her newfound humanity, while she keeps up her manipulative ways, because in her vampire form that was a magnified human skill. You always have the possibility that she will beg another vampire to turn her again, but after all the damage she has done around Mystic Falls I don’t think anyone will give her a free pass soon. – 9,5

This week’s favorite quote
Stefan: “Damon, help me celebrate my 17th High School graduation. Hey, you remember my friend Lexi of course.” Damon: “Lexi back from the dead. Goodie.” Lexi: “What’s up, buzz kill?” Damon: “Stefan, you just gonna sit there and let her enact her ghostly revenge?” Stefan: “You reap what you sow, buddy.”
Caroline: “Klaus, now is not the time to decide that you are over me. I’m gonna call you every 10 minutes until you get your ass here to save Damon’s life.”
Klaus: “He’s your first love. I intend to be your last, however long it takes.”
Stefan: “You’re right. How selfish of me to be indulging in these precious moments with my formerly dead best friend. I should be sacrificing my own happiness for the good of others, right? I should be upstairs grooming my hero hair.” Damon: “Are you drunk?” Stefan: “I don’t know, mom, am I?”
Caroline: “Graduation is the most important event of our lives, the last ceremony of our youth. It is our rite of freaking passage! Hell will freeze over before I let anyone cancel graduation.”
Elena: “It’s the grill. Must be Matt.”
Alaric: “This is my bar, pal. Nobody’s gonna blow it up.”
Stefan: “She’s the love of my life. I’d go back to her in a heartbeat.”
Elena: “Stefan, the only person worse at being a vampire than me is you.”
Damon: “How is it even when you’re dead you’re the bane of my existence?”
Elena: “Fine. Then I’m not sorry either. I’m not sorry that I met you. I’m not sorry that knowing you has made me question everything and that in death you’re the one that made me feel most alive. You’ve been a terrible person. You made all the wrong choices, and of all the choices that I have made, this will prove to be the worst one, but I am not sorry that I’m love with you. I love you, Damon.”
Stefan: “What if Elena was the one?” Lexi: “She was, and she will always be an epic love. Contrary to popular belief, there are actually multiple ones, especially for a vampire. The only way to find another is to let go and move on.”
Elena not letting Jeremy have the bottle with booze: “Hey. You wish.” Jeremy: “I’m dead. What are they gonna do, throw me in juvie?” Alaric: “Well, then at least you’d have a place to live.”
Alaric: “I’m the guy responsible for the 18-year-old you just threatened.” Connor: “Well, that 18-year-old snapped my neck with her bare hands.” Alaric: “I’m also the guy who showed her how to do that.”
Katherine: “Happy graduation, cupcake.”
Elena: “Have a nice human life, Katherine.”

Leave a Reply

