Television

Teen Wolf 3×06: Your favorite worst nightmare

Teen Wolf 3x06: Motel California

Teen Wolf 3×06: Motel California

Teen Wolf 3×06: Motel California
Welcome to one hour horror movie called Teen Wolf. Wow, this episode was truly amazing. The only bad thing I can think of is that it was a standalone episode, the rest of it was just mindblowing. After a little flashback with an Alexander Argent killing himself at a sleazy motel in the seventies, the episode picked up almost right were we left off with the whole gang staying over at the sleazy motel (the same one) where the suicide rates are going through the roof. There is even a counter behind the front desk, which just went up with three within a couple of minutes. Yikes. The wolves are hallucinating and reliving their worst nightmares. But that wasn’t even the best part of the episode (I know it’s weird to say, but there was some great writing and acting happening this episode). There was time for a short trip down memory lane to see where our Teen Wolf journey started two seasons ago till the point we are right now during an intense scene with Scott and Stiles. Plus Lydia saw the Darach in a bunch of flames and that wasn’t the only thing she heard or saw at the motel…

+ I’m so glad Allison believed Lydia. She might think she is going nuts, not being able to declare why she hears those things. But tonight Lydia’s skills came in very handy.
+ Stiles and Scott making a list of Darach suspects was kind of funny.
+ Do you remember me saying “what can a human do when an injured werewolf shows up” in the previous review? Well apparently you can get busy. On a serious note: we all saw this match coming, but I’m glad that Derek finally gets a love interest after three seasons of being the single wolf.
+ Derek and Ms. Blake weren’t the only ones hooking up. There was also a make-out scene between Danny and his boyfriend Ethan. It’s good to see Teen Wolf manages to do a gay storyline without making a big deal out of it, because to people being in love isn’t one. To be honest Danny and Ethan are kind of cute. I have not been a fan of the twins so far, but Danny sheds a new light on at least one of them. Unfortunately Ethan’s tummy started to act up. But when the gang saves his life, he gives Scott some vital information the next morning as a thank you.
+ I’m not sure which nightmare freaked me out the most. Ethan’s was a little bit harder to wrap your head around and we didn’t know a lot about Boyd before this episode, although his scenes were really freaky and dramatic when he got stuck underneath a vault. When we saw Scott’s nightmare it was more obvious he was imagining things, in my opinion. Or at least I was less struck with it, that happened later in the parking lot. So I think have to for Isaac. His neurotic behavior and screaming while lying in the freezer, gave me goosebumps. Maybe it’s because we already knew him a little bit better and saw these things happening to him in a previous season, but he just blew me away with the fear which was still written al over his face when Lydia found him.
+ Didn’t you all feel very bad for Scott during his speech about people around him getting hurt? Because I did. He is such a compassionate person. Stiles really stepped up when Scott almost committed suicide. Both guys were at their A game during that scene, but I think the MVP award should go to Tyler Posey.
+ How adorable was it to seem our faves wake up in the bus the next morning? Super adorable!

Scott, Stiles, Lydia, Allison, Isaac and Boyd waking up the next morning at the motel

Scott, Stiles, Lydia, Allison, Isaac and Boyd waking up the next morning at the motel

+/- Yikes, creepy Gerard is still around (only to shed some light on the flashback at the being of the episode). On the plus side, Mr. Argent isn’t ‘threading the needle’ anymore.

I’m not a big fan of the horror genre, so I’m not an expert, but I think the writers did a great job on this episode. The only downside was that the big storyline this season didn’t move forward (and seeing the Darach in the end doesn’t really count). – 9,5

Teen Wolf 3×06 quotes
Stiles (talking about Dr. Deaton being a suspect): “I don’t really like the whole Obi-Wan thing he’s got going on, you know. It freaks me out.[sees the wondering expression on Scott’s face] Oh, my God. Have you still not seen Star Wars?” Scott: “I swear, if we make it back alive, I will watch the movie.” Stiles: “Just makes me crazy.”
Derek: “How bad?” Ms. Blake: “To be honest, the ‘oh my God’ would be for your unbelievable physique if it weren’t for the fact that you’re bleeding black blood.”
Allison (to Lydia): “I believe you. After everything we’ve been through, I believe you.”
Scott: “Every time I try to fight back, it just gets worse. People keep getting hurt. People keep getting killed.” Stiles: “Scott, listen to me, okay? This isn’t you, all right? This is someone inside your head telling you to do this. Okay? Now…” Scott: “What if it isn’t? What if it is just me? What if doing this is actually the best thing that I could do for everyone else? It all started that night, the night I got bitten. You remember the way it was before that? You and me, we were… we were nothing. We weren’t popular. We weren’t good at lacrosse. We weren’t important. We were no one. Maybe I should just be no one again. No one at all.” Stiles: “Scott, just listen to me, okay? You’re not no one. Okay? You’re someone, you’re… Scott, you’re my best friend. Okay? And I need you. Scott, you’re my brother. All right, so… so if you’re gonna do this, then I think you’re just gonna have to take me with you.”
Stiles: “You know, your little code of ethics there is sort of barbaric, just FYI.”

One thought on “Teen Wolf 3×06: Your favorite worst nightmare

  1. Pingback: Teen Wolf 3×07: The butterfly effect | All That Cubeness

Leave a Reply

