Television

Teen Wolf 3×12: The ultimate sacrifice

Teen Wolf 3x12: Lunar Ellipse

Teen Wolf 3×12: Lunar Ellipse

Teen Wolf 3×12: Lunar Ellipse
The midseason finale focused on the lunar eclipse – the 15 minutes when all the werewolves lose their power – and beating the bad guy (Deucalion and/or the Darach). Of course the episode kicks off right after the surrogate sacrifice last week, with Scott, Stiles and Allison on “the other side” to find the location of the Nemeton.

+ I already mentioned this season that the sets look fantastic. But the crew really stepped up in the midseason finale. Great sets (the other side – the white room – made me think of Harry Potter, nevertheless it was very fitting), great special effects and great lighting.
+ “The where is the Nemeton” flashbacks were awesome. What a long way has this show come since season one. Plus an appearance by Mrs. Argent never hurts an episode.
+ The Argents weapon collection is wicked. Loved how Allison used her hunter knowledge and her father’s old excuse against the annoying agents.
+ The twins are joining the good side (a.k.a. Scott’s pack) instead of the bad. I actually like this development. I’m glad Dr. Deaton was able to save them.
+ Kali is dead! That is something to celebrate, besides Deucalion and Ennis (who’s already dead) she was the Alpha who creeped me out the most.
+ Good news: everyone underneath the Nemeton survived and the Argents are back in the business, with a slightly nicer code created by Allison.
+ The final montage was great. Loved the continuing romances (Danny+Ethan, Lydia+Aiden, Isaac+Allison) and one of the best bromances on screen: Scott and Stiles.
+/- Cora is feeling better. Yay I guess?! I wonder what she had in the first place.
+/- Letting Deucalion walk away and returning his sight was a real Scott move. He doesn’t kill, he has faith in people and that’s why he gives second chances. I’m not sure if he deserved it. He was extremely cocky during the fight with Jennifer, although he saved Scott from the trouble of killing her.
– Another thing I didn’t get: one moment Stiles looked pretty hurt in a car accident, the next moment he was able to safe everyone with a baseball bat. How did that happen?!
– Seemed that my worst nightmare came true! Peter Hale has got an awful plan up his sleeve. No! I just started to like him. Now he or Scott will be killed (and because Scott is the lead of this show, his chance to survive is 99% and Peter’s 1%).

This episode was a great way to end the first part of season 3. Although the bad guy question was a bit confusing sometimes (who are we trying to defeat: the Darach or the Demon Wolf Deucalion), I think they wrapped up the storylines very well. – 9,5

Teen Wolf 3×12 quotes
Dr. Deaton: “Circumstances like this sometimes require that you align yourself with people you’d normally consider enemies.” Allison: “So we’re gonna trust him, the guy that calls himself death, destroyer of worlds? We’re gonna trust that guy?” Dr. Deaton: “I wouldn’t trust him, no, but you could use him to your advantage. Deucalion may be the enemy, but he could also be the bait.”

Derek: “You want me to run?” Peter Hale: “No. I want you to stay and get slaughtered by an Alpha with a psychotic foot fetish. Of course I want you to run.”

Lydia about Derek: “I think he said he was heading out to do some shopping, run a few errands, the usual werewolf afternoon.” Kali: “Who do you think you’re talking to?” Lydia: “Someone in desperate need of a pedicure. I’d be happy to give you a referral.”

Scott’s dad/FBI agent: “I’m not gonna lie. I’m more than a little disturbed, not only by the number of missing parents, but the fact that it’s Stiles’s father, your father, and your mother.” Isaac: “Mine are both dead.”

Derek to Ms. Blake: “Stop talking to me like a politician.”

Derek: “This might be hard to believe, but I’m actually trying to help you.” Deucalion: “Ooh, like brother against brother. How very American this is.”

Sheriff Stilinski about the baseball bat: “I always said aluminum was better than wood.”

Derek: “Like my mother used to say, I’m a predator. I don’t have to be a killer.”

Derek: “My mother told me you were a man of vision once. We’re letting you go because we hope you can be that man again.” Scott: “But if you’re not, then having your eyesight back won’t matter. Because you’ll never see us coming.”

Mr. Argent translating Allison’s new code: “We protect those who cannot protect themselves.”

Ms. Blake: “Of course it’s you. Everyone else suffers. But somehow, you come out on top. And now that Scott’s an Alpha, you’ll be able to steal it from him. You’ll be an Alpha again.” Peter Hale: “Again? Again? I am the Alpha! I’ve always been the Alpha!”

Leave a Reply

