Television

Elementary 2×03: Pursuing a life of meaning

Elementary S02E03

Elementary 2×03: We Are Everyone
How awesome was this episode! The writers brought a really good detective story and interesting character insights with the usual Elementary weirdness and sarcastic note in one episode. I really enjoyed Watson and Sherlock’s discussions on the way they live their lives. Because of their jobs they live on another level than your average citizen (no offense to anyone, they just do), but Joan feels the urge to pursue a life in the real world too while Sherlock is being pen pals with a woman who thinks on the same level has him. OMG! I was really surprised when that last voice-over turned out to be a letter from Moriarty. But I’m so glad she is still “on the show” she was such a fascinating character in the first season. I also loved the funny stuff that occurred during the episode: Sherlock using pet turtle Clyde as an alarm clock for Joan (that turtle is super cute). Plus Joan working on her pick pocket skills by herself and leaving Sherlock lost for words (that doesn’t happen very often). Enjoy the ton of quotes below and let me know what you think of this episode in the comments.

Elementary 2×03 quotes
Joan (on her pop quiz): “Staged suicide, obviously. No one sticks their head in the oven anymore.”

Joan: “If you’re going to interrupt my coffee time, you could at least make the questions more challenging.”

Sherlock: “No Belgian is that bad at backgammon.”

Joan: “You’d think someone that ambitious would be a better liar.”

Joan: “We’re about to sit around for a very long time, aren’t we?”

Joan: “Do you think we’re cut off from the world? You know, neither of us dates, neither of us really goes out much. At all, actually.”
Sherlock: “We’re not cut off from the world. We’re engaged in creating one that’s actually worth living in. One that addresses our needs entirely, and eliminates everything extraneous.”

Sherlock: “I’ve lived most of my life with the firm conviction that romantic love is a delusion. It’s a futile hedge against the existential terror that is our own singularity. Then I met someone who calls herself Irene Adler, and that forced me to reexamine those convictions. She, of course, turned out to be a criminal.”
Joan: “Never really discussed how that made you feel.”
Sherlock: “I feel liberated. I am, now and forever, post-love. And, as such, I’m free to pursue a life of meaning.”

Joan: “In other words, you plan on arguing on the Internet all night?”

Sherlock: “I need a moment free from the Internet. I’m trying to drag myself away, but the people I’m in conflict with are too infuriating to ignore.”

Sherlock: “But I have, of course, been drawn into a debate as to whether Mr. Kleinfelter, murder suspect, is the victim of a government frame-up.”
Joan: “Are governments capable of evil?”
Sherlock: “Yes, of course they are. All institutions are. But they’re more capable of incompetence. That’s good. I should post that.”

Sherlock: “We didn’t cover sleight of hand yet.”
Joan: “Well, I dug into it on my own. You were right. I mean, all it is is eye contact and controlling the point of focus. Our power’s out, so what else am I gonna do but read?”

Joan: “I think it’s sad that you’ve given up. I think you have a lot to share, if you cared to. I shouldn’t be the only one who knows you.”

Moriarty’s letter: “For a long while now, I’ve suspected that connection with another person, real connection, simply isn’t possible. I’m curious if you disagree, although I suspect you feel as I do in this, as you do in so many other things. So tell me: Is it possible to truly know another person? Is it even a worthwhile pursuit? Yours is the only opinion I’ll trust, the only point of view that holds even the faintest interest. I find my diversions, as I always do, but the days are long in this gray place. I dearly hope you’ll write soon. Ever yours, Jamie Moriarty.”

ATC’s rating
ATC-scores-5

3 thoughts on “Elementary 2×03: Pursuing a life of meaning

  1. Pingback: Faves and Flaws: Tears for a tribute | All That Cubeness

  2. Pingback: Weekly round-up: Double the fun | All That Cubeness

Leave a Reply

